Austrian Airlines


3.31/5 from 13 reviews
www.austrian.com
OS
Vienna International Airport (VIE)

Austrian Airlines is the flag carrier of Austria, part of Lufthansa Group. It serves 130 destinations globally out of its hub in Vienna International Airport. 

Reviews

Will   9 months ago
We had a 45 minute connection time which we were concerned was short, Austrian Airline staff at Heathrow were slightly reassuring but did not seem 100% confident. The flight to Vienna was delayed about 15 minutes which was worrying but we arrived with about 25 minutes till departure of next flight, the change over was not long as there was no passport control and it was just a shortish walk between gates. Also the plane did not leave for another 20 minutes I think so was fine but would have been reassuring to hear from staff before that there was no passport control and that it would be that easy rather than just that we would be fine.
Flight date
July 2023
Airport from
London Heathrow Airport
Airport to
Bangkok Suvarnabhumi Airport
Connecting airport/s
Vienna Schwechat Airport
Overall rate
On time arrival of all flights
Baggage handling
Clarity of transfer information
Time between connections
Transit process at connecting airports
Baggage arrived
Yes
Missed connecting flight
No
Recommend this airline for connecting flights
No
Ross   2 years ago
I stringly recommend that NOBODY books a flight with Austrian that connects via Vienna. The connection timings they use are ridiculously short, and on the flight i took, nobody out of our group got their bags transferred to the connecting flight. 2 days later and 3/5 bags are still \'lost\' but clearly somewhere in vienna. 2 bags were found and sent on 2 days late for our holiday. I met another tourist who travelled from holland a week earlier and the same happened to them some of their group 'never' received their bags after 1 week. So, DO NOT FLY AUSTRIAN VIA VIENNA !
Flight date
July 2022
Airport from
London Heathrow Airport
Airport to
Skopje International Airport
Connecting airport/s
Vienna Schwechat Airport
Overall rate
On time arrival of all flights
Baggage handling
Clarity of transfer information
Time between connections
Transit process at connecting airports
Baggage arrived
No
Missed connecting flight
No
Recommend this airline for connecting flights
No
Adela   3 years ago
Flight date
August 2021
Airport from
Stockholm Arlanda Airport
Airport to
Tirana Rinas Airport
Connecting airport/s
Vienna Schwechat Airport
Overall rate
On time arrival of all flights
Baggage handling
Clarity of transfer information
Time between connections
Transit process at connecting airports
Baggage arrived
Yes
Missed connecting flight
No
Recommend this airline for connecting flights
Yes
gautier   5 years ago
Awful experience...I had a plane with Austrian from Minsk to Vienna, and a connection from Vienna to Paris , with Austrian as well, in Vienna !!!!The flight from Minsk was on time and they are able to stop people to miss the connecting flight...Overbooking probably ??? And nothing to say, no apologies, no refund....Never fly again with Austrian...
Flight date
September 2019
Airport from
Minsk National Airport
Airport to
Paris Charles De Gaulle Airport
Connecting airport/s
Vienna Schwechat Airport
Overall rate
On time arrival of all flights
Baggage handling
Clarity of transfer information
Time between connections
Transit process at connecting airports
Baggage arrived
Yes
Missed connecting flight
Yes
Recommend this airline for connecting flights
No
Robert   6 years ago
Vienna has a minimum connecting flight time of 25 minutes. This theoretically can be possible, but it was not in the case of my flight. A 15 minute delay at the onset of my first flight gave me around 15 minutes to transfer from landing time of my first flight to the departure of my second. I believe we landed already after the scheduled boarding time of our connecting flight. Of the 5 passengers that I know of on my flight attempting to make the connection, 1 who sprinted and bodily forced themselves in front of other passengers in security and passport check lines apparently made it on board as the gate closed, as they were not among the rest of us transferring passengers at the connecting flight's closed gate desk when we arrived. After some time, we were booked on the next flight to our destination was departing around 10 hours later. I will be seeking compensation for this flight, if only to encourage Austrian Airlines to not put us passengers in this situation anymore. The biggest issue here, in my opinion, is that passengers must go through both a passport control and then a security screening while they are transferring. 25 minutes would perhaps barely be enough time on a good day without any complications or slight delays. Please allow more time between offered connecting flights.
Flight date
November 2018
Airport from
Sofia International Airport
Airport to
Prague International Airport
Connecting airport/s
Vienna Schwechat Airport
Overall rate
On time arrival of all flights
Clarity of transfer information
Time between connections
Transit process at connecting airports
Missed connecting flight
Yes
Dillen   6 years ago
Austrian Airlines sells tickets between 2 cities that require transit through Vienna with only 40 minutes connection time. THIS IS NOT SUFFICIENT, and yet Austrian misleads passengers into thinking that can actually make the connections. On the plane, passengers are told that there is plenty of time, but then when they get to Vienna Airport, there are long lines to get through passport control and other checkpoints. If Austrian is going to sell tickets with these tight connections, they should have a policy of HOLDING the connecting flight so that passengers can in fact make the connection. This would require better communication between the flight attendants on the flight coming in. The lack of communication and false promise that these connections are in fact possible causes great stress on passengers and ruins travel plans.
Flight date
October 2018
Airport from
Paris Charles De Gaulle Airport
Airport to
Lviv Intl
Connecting airport/s
Vienna Schwechat Airport
Overall rate
On time arrival of all flights
Clarity of transfer information
Time between connections
Transit process at connecting airports
Baggage arrived
Yes
Missed connecting flight
Yes
Recommend this airline for connecting flights
No
sjaakie   6 years ago
It was 1 one word horrible. We were travelling in a group with a sickly gentleman and there was no wheelchair available. He only had 30 minutes to transfer. Was treated horribly by staff.
We had to clear passport check upon arrival which took 20 minutes, so including the time to get bussed (!) to the gate I only had 6 minutes to get to my connecting gate.
And I still had to clear baggage checks and another passport check to get to the UK.
Made it to the gate 10 minutes late as the steward on the flight had also given me the wrong gate number. If I hadn't been in the shape I am, I totally wouldv'e missed the flight to LHR.
Staff didn't give a cr.p when I said something about this ridiculous connection time.
Boarded the plane totally sweaty and out of breath. What a shite way to end a trip!!!!!
Never again.
Flight date
April 2018
Airport from
Tehran Imam Khomeini
Airport to
London Heathrow Airport
Connecting airport/s
Vienna Schwechat Airport
Overall rate
On time arrival of all flights
Clarity of transfer information
Time between connections
Transit process at connecting airports
Missed connecting flight
No
Peter   6 years ago
The connection happens at terminal G (non-shengen), so I didn't have to go thru immigration in Vienna airport. Nevertheless, there is security check, which i believe is unnecessary. At this security check, they took away the water I bought at the previous airport. I had 3 hours till the next flight, but it went fast, as the G terminal is rather empty and there are areas with comfortable working desks as well as some cozy sofas. WIFI is free, unlimited and superfast, so practically one can work. Overall, pleasant experience.
Flight date
December 2017
Airport from
Sofia International Airport
Airport to
Zagreb International Airport
Connecting airport/s
Vienna Schwechat Airport
Overall rate
On time arrival of all flights
Baggage handling
Clarity of transfer information
Time between connections
Transit process at connecting airports
Baggage arrived
Yes
Missed connecting flight
No
Recommend this airline for connecting flights
Yes
Maria   7 years ago
I could hardly make my connection in 35 min, running all the way from one side of the airport to the other, I was the last to board the plane to Sofia. Nevertheless, I made it and I am happy I didn't have time to waste at the airport.
Flight date
February 2017
Airport from
Sofia International Airport
Connecting airport/s
Vienna Schwechat Airport
Overall rate
On time arrival of all flights
Baggage handling
Clarity of transfer information
Time between connections
Transit process at connecting airports
Baggage arrived
Yes
Missed connecting flight
No
Recommend this airline for connecting flights
Yes
Vladimir   8 years ago
Flight date
August 2016
Airport from
Copenhagen Kastrup Airport
Airport to
Varna International Airport
Connecting airport/s
Vienna Schwechat Airport
Overall rate
On time arrival of all flights
Baggage handling
Clarity of transfer information
Time between connections
Transit process at connecting airports
Baggage arrived
Yes
Missed connecting flight
No
Recommend this airline for connecting flights
Yes
info@connectionreview.com