Austrian Airlines


3.56/5 from 9 reviews
www.austrian.com
OS
Vienna International Airport (VIE)

Austrian Airlines is the flag carrier of Austria, part of Lufthansa Group. It serves 130 destinations globally out of its hub in Vienna International Airport. 

Reviews

Robert   2 weeks ago
Vienna has a minimum connecting flight time of 25 minutes. This theoretically can be possible, but it was not in the case of my flight. A 15 minute delay at the onset of my first flight gave me around 15 minutes to transfer from landing time of my first flight to the departure of my second. I believe we landed already after the scheduled boarding time of our connecting flight. Of the 5 passengers that I know of on my flight attempting to make the connection, 1 who sprinted and bodily forced themselves in front of other passengers in security and passport check lines apparently made it on board as the gate closed, as they were not among the rest of us transferring passengers at the connecting flight's closed gate desk when we arrived. After some time, we were booked on the next flight to our destination was departing around 10 hours later. I will be seeking compensation for this flight, if only to encourage Austrian Airlines to not put us passengers in this situation anymore. The biggest issue here, in my opinion, is that passengers must go through both a passport control and then a security screening while they are transferring. 25 minutes would perhaps barely be enough time on a good day without any complications or slight delays. Please allow more time between offered connecting flights.
Flight date
December 2018
Airport from
Sofia
Airport to
Ruzyne
Connecting airport/s
Schwechat Airport
Overall rate
On time arrival of all flights
Clarity of transfer information
Time between connections
Transit process at connecting airports
Missed connecting flight
Yes
Dillen   4 weeks ago
Austrian Airlines sells tickets between 2 cities that require transit through Vienna with only 40 minutes connection time. THIS IS NOT SUFFICIENT, and yet Austrian misleads passengers into thinking that can actually make the connections. On the plane, passengers are told that there is plenty of time, but then when they get to Vienna Airport, there are long lines to get through passport control and other checkpoints. If Austrian is going to sell tickets with these tight connections, they should have a policy of HOLDING the connecting flight so that passengers can in fact make the connection. This would require better communication between the flight attendants on the flight coming in. The lack of communication and false promise that these connections are in fact possible causes great stress on passengers and ruins travel plans.
Flight date
November 2018
Airport from
Charles De Gaulle
Airport to
Lviv Intl
Connecting airport/s
Schwechat Airport
Overall rate
On time arrival of all flights
Clarity of transfer information
Time between connections
Transit process at connecting airports
Baggage arrived
Yes
Missed connecting flight
Yes
Recommend this airline for connecting flights
No
sjaakie   7 months ago
It was 1 one word horrible. We were travelling in a group with a sickly gentleman and there was no wheelchair available. He only had 30 minutes to transfer. Was treated horribly by staff.
We had to clear passport check upon arrival which took 20 minutes, so including the time to get bussed (!) to the gate I only had 6 minutes to get to my connecting gate.
And I still had to clear baggage checks and another passport check to get to the UK.
Made it to the gate 10 minutes late as the steward on the flight had also given me the wrong gate number. If I hadn't been in the shape I am, I totally wouldv'e missed the flight to LHR.
Staff didn't give a cr.p when I said something about this ridiculous connection time.
Boarded the plane totally sweaty and out of breath. What a shite way to end a trip!!!!!
Never again.
Flight date
May 2018
Airport from
Imam Khomeini
Airport to
Heathrow
Connecting airport/s
Schwechat Airport
Overall rate
On time arrival of all flights
Clarity of transfer information
Time between connections
Transit process at connecting airports
Missed connecting flight
No
Peter   11 months ago
The connection happens at terminal G (non-shengen), so I didn't have to go thru immigration in Vienna airport. Nevertheless, there is security check, which i believe is unnecessary. At this security check, they took away the water I bought at the previous airport. I had 3 hours till the next flight, but it went fast, as the G terminal is rather empty and there are areas with comfortable working desks as well as some cozy sofas. WIFI is free, unlimited and superfast, so practically one can work. Overall, pleasant experience.
Flight date
January 2018
Airport from
Sofia
Airport to
Zagreb International Airport
Connecting airport/s
Schwechat Airport
Overall rate
On time arrival of all flights
Baggage handling
Clarity of transfer information
Time between connections
Transit process at connecting airports
Baggage arrived
Yes
Missed connecting flight
No
Recommend this airline for connecting flights
Yes
Maria   one year ago
I could hardly make my connection in 35 min, running all the way from one side of the airport to the other, I was the last to board the plane to Sofia. Nevertheless, I made it and I am happy I didn't have time to waste at the airport.
Flight date
March 2017
Airport from
Sofia
Connecting airport/s
Schwechat Airport
Overall rate
On time arrival of all flights
Baggage handling
Clarity of transfer information
Time between connections
Transit process at connecting airports
Baggage arrived
Yes
Missed connecting flight
No
Recommend this airline for connecting flights
Yes
Vladimir   2 years ago
Flight date
September 2016
Airport from
Kastrup
Airport to
Varna
Connecting airport/s
Schwechat Airport
Overall rate
On time arrival of all flights
Baggage handling
Clarity of transfer information
Time between connections
Transit process at connecting airports
Baggage arrived
Yes
Missed connecting flight
No
Recommend this airline for connecting flights
Yes
Vihar   2 years ago
Flight date
September 2016
Airport from
Sofia
Airport to
Lester B Pearson Intl
Connecting airport/s
Schwechat Airport
Overall rate
On time arrival of all flights
Baggage handling
Clarity of transfer information
Time between connections
Transit process at connecting airports
Baggage arrived
Yes
Missed connecting flight
No
Recommend this airline for connecting flights
Yes
Peter   2 years ago
Flight date
March 2016
Airport from
Varna
Airport to
Frankfurt Hahn
Connecting airport/s
Schwechat Airport
Overall rate
On time arrival of all flights
Baggage handling
Clarity of transfer information
Time between connections
Transit process at connecting airports
Missed connecting flight
No
Georgi   3 years ago
Vienna airport is very friendly for transit passengers, the screens advice approximate walking time to the gate and it is easy to find the way to your next flight once you land. Depending on whether you pass thru border control or not, 20-25 min are enough. The airline - Austrian, however is not always at its best with the on time performance. In my case I had a huge delay of the incoming flight from Tallinn, and despite I had 20 min left to departure of next flight, still I made it! The incoming flight was done by a partner airline of Austrian, so I don't blame Austrian entirely for the delay...
Flight date
September 2015
Airport from
Tallinn
Connecting airport/s
Schwechat Airport
Overall rate
On time arrival of all flights
Baggage handling
Clarity of transfer information
Time between connections
Transit process at connecting airports
Baggage arrived
Yes
Missed connecting flight
No
Recommend this airline for connecting flights
Yes
info@connectionreview.com