Lufthansa


3.83/5 from 12 reviews
www.lh.com
LH
Munich Int. Airport (MUC), Frankfurt Int. Airport (FRA)

Lufthansa is the largest airline in Europe headquarted in Germany, which servers 220 destinations accross the globe with a fleet of 264 aircraft. Lufthansa is a founding member of Star Alliance. 
 

Reviews

Rita   11 months ago
Stop-over in Frankfurt was too short, so had to run fast. Then luggage did not arrive. Find luggage process is horrible (people don't really understand the system, can't speak proper English, but most of all don't listen what you say), so luggage could not be found. Sent pictures of the item are not added to the file and the people on the phone totally don't feel responsible. And now after 5 days, I could claim the luggage. The people on the phone are not actually looking for the luggage, they just tell you to wait. Day after day. Worst experience with an airline company like this in my life!
Flight date
April 2023
Airport from
Amsterdam Schiphol Airport
Airport to
Tancredo Neves Intl
Connecting airport/s
Frankfurt Airport
Overall rate
On time arrival of all flights
Baggage handling
Clarity of transfer information
Time between connections
Transit process at connecting airports
Baggage arrived
No
Missed connecting flight
No
Recommend this airline for connecting flights
No
Rene   12 months ago
Dear fellow business travelers,
I would like to share my extremely disappointing experience of my recent business class round-trip from Houston, TX to Haneda Airport in Tokyo with a stop in Austin, TX and a two-day layover in Frankfurt with Lufthansa. I am still paying the price, for my unforgettable mistake of booking flights LH716 from Frankfurt to Tokyo on March 22, 2023, and LH717 from Tokyo to Frankfurt on April 17, 2023.
To start, one of our bags was delayed for more than five (5) days, and the airline's customer service at the Frankfurt Airport was unhelpful in resolving the issue. Despite spending over an hour discussing the problem, we received no information about the status of our bags, and they seemed indifferent to our inconvenience. Thankfully, a lady, Ms. VINAS DE BOEHNKE - service agent of Mexican origin, overheard our conversation and helped us establishing the status of the missing bag.
Furthermore, Lufthansa's reimbursement policy for the toiletries and clothing we had to purchase was unclear and unsatisfactory. We were informed via email that Lufthansa only refunds 100% of the toiletry items and 50% of the clothing, we had to purchase in Frankfurt and at the airport before our departure to Japan. Although we filed the expense reports with corresponding copies of the receipts on April 27th, we have been receiving daily emails stating that they cannot issue reimbursements due to the lack of receipts, which were originally filed with the online form. This has been a frustrating experience and has resulted in repeated filings of the same receipts.
During our return trip from Tokyo, we were assigned a seat in the lower deck of the business class section, which was broken, making the 11-hour and 40-minute flight extremely uncomfortable. When we brought this to the attention of the head flight attendant, she was apologetic, but did not offer any solution other than the manual manipulation of the seat, every time we needed to change its position. To our surprise, we found two members of what we believe was an orchestra seated in the upper deck of the business class section with their cellos strapped into chairs next to them. We feel that the head flight attendant could have easily asked one of them to switch seats with us, as the cellos would not have minded if their seat did not recline. Instead, we had to manually manipulate the seat every time we needed to change positions. Although the flight attendants offered to compensate us for the damaged seat, they changed their minds three (3) times, stating that the compensation was only offered to European travelers, not Americans.
Overall, I was extremely disappointed with the level of customer service on this flight, and afterward. For the high price of a business class ticket, I expected much better treatment and a more comfortable experience. Imagine if it were a business trip; these problems could have had significant consequences. I strongly recommend not to entrust Lufthansa with your travel needs and advise others not to make the same mistake I did, and to look elsewhere for your travel requirements.
Flight date
March 2023
Airport from
George Bush Intercontinental
Airport to
Tokyo Haneda Airport
Connecting airport/s
Frankfurt Airport
Overall rate
On time arrival of all flights
Baggage handling
Clarity of transfer information
Time between connections
Transit process at connecting airports
Baggage arrived
No
Missed connecting flight
No
Recommend this airline for connecting flights
No
Stoyan   4 years ago
Glad that I tried their Airbus A380 - very good plane! I could say on the transatlantic flight their service is amazing. I am also attaching a video with flight review of my flight MUC-SOF aboard A380:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3gldwPBau10

In terms of connection MUC is very good place to do so. The only con is when you have to change between the main and satellite terminal, but it still doesn't take more than 10min to do it.
The connection process is very easy and normally when check-in at your origin airport on your SECOND boarding pass appears the gate zone (concourse) at MUC which your next flight will depart from.
Flight date
September 2019
Airport from
Paris Charles De Gaulle Airport
Airport to
San Francisco Airport
Connecting airport/s
Munich Airport
Overall rate
On time arrival of all flights
Baggage handling
Clarity of transfer information
Time between connections
Transit process at connecting airports
Baggage arrived
Yes
Missed connecting flight
No
Recommend this airline for connecting flights
Yes
Stoyan   4 years ago
Lufthansa generally offer very good service. I think it can't be compared with Aegean and Turkish when talking about the food on intra-european flights, but has many other advanteges, for example: I could choose seats for free during online check-in (even the seats on exit rows); Cabin crew is very nice and professional. They make you feel definitely safer and better served; Very good prices when you buy open-jaw or return ticket in Europe (even on public holidays and during the very high season)...
About CONNECTION:
Munich is one of the best and easiest for connections airport in Europe. The only con is when you have to change flights between the Satellite and the Main terminal. It is still smooth connection, but you have to go in the basement, take the train (every 4min) and then go up again.
I used also the Senator Lounge at MUC: and I can say it is one of the best lounges in Europe. It is not the most comfortable, but offers very quality food and showers.
Flight date
October 2019
Airport from
Paris Charles De Gaulle Airport
Airport to
Sofia International Airport
Connecting airport/s
Munich Airport
Overall rate
On time arrival of all flights
Baggage handling
Clarity of transfer information
Time between connections
Transit process at connecting airports
Baggage arrived
Yes
Missed connecting flight
No
Recommend this airline for connecting flights
Yes
Peter   5 years ago
It was only a short connection, under 1h, which for FRA may not be enough. The first flight was late 1h due to weather problems at FRA, which caused immense stress for many passengers. Nevertheless, the airline made efforts to keep passengers current of their connecting flight details, mostly thru interactive means - gate changes messages were sent to phones, but this information was also available inflight as the plane A320 was equipped with wifi and access to lufthansa.com and the app was free. There you could see live schedule and gate changes. I saw that my next flight was running late too, which saved the connection. In FRA, if you arrive from non-schengen thru the bus gates, you always need to go thru security check, which slows down the transfer process, but not greatly.
Flight date
April 2019
Airport from
Sofia International Airport
Airport to
Nice Cote D Azur Airport
Connecting airport/s
Frankfurt Airport
Overall rate
On time arrival of all flights
Clarity of transfer information
Time between connections
Transit process at connecting airports
Missed connecting flight
No
St.Dimitrov   6 years ago
I flight Oct.2017 from Sofia to Stuttgart vie Munchen - morning flight. Tranfer in Muchen was w/o any delays or problems. For so big airport plus boder control - there was clear information and ways from one to another gates.
As detail: there are sleeping cabins inside of airport, next to the gates - as a small hotel rooms, paid with credit cards. For people with long transfer times can be usefull.
Flight date
September 2017
Airport from
Sofia International Airport
Airport to
Stuttgart Airport
Connecting airport/s
Munich Airport
Overall rate
On time arrival of all flights
Baggage handling
Clarity of transfer information
Time between connections
Transit process at connecting airports
Baggage arrived
Yes
Missed connecting flight
No
Recommend this airline for connecting flights
Yes
Ivana   8 years ago
Flight date
April 2016
Airport from
Sofia International Airport
Airport to
Edinburgh Airport
Connecting airport/s
Frankfurt Airport
Overall rate
On time arrival of all flights
Baggage handling
Clarity of transfer information
Time between connections
Transit process at connecting airports
Baggage arrived
Yes
Missed connecting flight
No
Recommend this airline for connecting flights
Yes
Svetoslav   8 years ago
On time, unless on strike :)
Flight date
March 2016
Airport from
Sofia International Airport
Airport to
Edinburgh Airport
Connecting airport/s
Frankfurt Airport
Overall rate
On time arrival of all flights
Baggage handling
Clarity of transfer information
Time between connections
Transit process at connecting airports
Baggage arrived
Yes
Missed connecting flight
No
Recommend this airline for connecting flights
Yes
Svilen   8 years ago
Well organized airport. there are no convenient places to rest.
Flight date
April 2015
Airport from
Sofia International Airport
Airport to
Chicago Ohare International
Connecting airport/s
Frankfurt Airport
Overall rate
On time arrival of all flights
Baggage handling
Clarity of transfer information
Time between connections
Transit process at connecting airports
Baggage arrived
Yes
Missed connecting flight
No
Recommend this airline for connecting flights
Yes
Krasimira   8 years ago
Seemless. My only issue was that I had to spend about 4 hours at the airport. While in other cases 4 hous would've been just about enough, German airports together with Lufthansa are so well organized that it took me less then 15 minutes to arrive at the gate. Well.. Better safe than sorry. Besides there were plenty of things to do at the airport (there is a smoking area for my fellow smokers).
Flight date
November 2015
Airport from
Sofia International Airport
Airport to
Warsaw Chopin Airport
Connecting airport/s
Frankfurt Airport
Overall rate
On time arrival of all flights
Baggage handling
Clarity of transfer information
Time between connections
Transit process at connecting airports
Baggage arrived
Yes
Missed connecting flight
No
Recommend this airline for connecting flights
Yes
info@connectionreview.com