Qatar Airways


3.89/5 from 9 reviews
www.qatarairways.com
QR
Hamad International Airport - Doha (DOH)

Qatar Airways is the flag carrier of Qatar, based in Doha, Qatar. Qatar Airways operates out of its hub at Hamad International Airport. It serves 150 destinations across Africa, Middle East, Europe, North America, South America, Asia and Oceania. The fleet consists of nearly 200 aircraft. 

Reviews

Peter   7 months ago
Qatar Airways is one of the best airlines to fly to Asia, not only because the planes are new and service is good, but the transfers are smooth. Doha is a state of art airport and very easy to move around. There is Qatar staff everywhere around the airport, whom you can ask for reference and guidance. The connection to Bangkok was perfect, as waiting time was just under 3h. It gives you an opportunity to do some shopping, have a bite and walk a bit before a long flight. I would definitely recommend Qatar Airways for connecting flights.
Flight date
January 2017
Airport from
Sofia
Airport to
Suvarnabhumi Intl
Connecting airport/s
Doha Intl
Overall rate
On time arrival of all flights
Baggage handling
Clarity of transfer information
Time between connections
Transit process at connecting airports
Baggage arrived
Yes
Missed connecting flight
Yes
Recommend this airline for connecting flights
Yes
Nikola   10 months ago
Hamad International Airport is Qatar Airways' hub and it is extremely convenient airport. Transferring there is hassle free, quick and easy. Even if you have really short connection time (45 minutes) the airline/airport staff will guide you and help you through security.
Flight date
October 2016
Airport from
Sofia
Airport to
Tokyo Intl
Connecting airport/s
Doha Intl
Overall rate
On time arrival of all flights
Baggage handling
Clarity of transfer information
Time between connections
Transit process at connecting airports
Baggage arrived
Yes
Missed connecting flight
No
Recommend this airline for connecting flights
Yes
Valentin   one year ago
Qatar Airways and Visa - free transit stay at Shanghai

I always put a title of my trip and this one is under acronym Capitalist East Asia. Capitalist East Asia tour includes Shanghai as the financial capital of People Republic of China (PRC), Taipei – the capital of Taiwan or Republic of China as a remnant of the old capitalist China from early 20th century, Japan – the third largest economy in the world and Seoul, the capital of the capitalist South Korea. The trip in the region would take 2 weeks and 10 flights. Japan was the prime destination of my interest during this trip accompanied of metropolises of Shanghai, Taipei and Seoul.

I deliberately chose Shanghai airport as a stopover. The cheapest option was to fly with Qatar Airways to Shanghai. Then I booked a separate flight to Taipei, Taiwan with Chinese low-cost airline Spring. The rationale behind this itinerary is two-folded: first the direct route to Taipei was too expensive and I need to take advantage of 72-hours visa – free transit stay to see the city of Shanghai.

As a foreigner I need a tourist visa for mainland China (PRC). But in last few years the China government introduced transit visa – free allowance to stay in major cities which hosts international airport hubs. The condition to stay there up to 72-hours is to prove your transit stay with outward flight to a foreign country. It’s interesting and even ridiculous for that particular purpose the special administrative regions (SAR) of Hong Kong and Macao and Taiwan are considered as foreign outward destinations or their politico-administrative status being equal of independent countries like Japan and South Korea. And this come in the light of constant claims of PRC that Taiwan is part of PRC. Never mind the political issues and juridical nuances of the current international status of Taiwan but I need to take into account possible visa troubles during planning of my trip.

The check-in stuff of Qatar Airways in Sofia took my international passport and was looking for Chinese visa. There is no Chinese visa. I showed them my booking (e-ticket number included) of Spring Airlines from Shanghai to Taipei. They seemed not very happy as Spring Airlines is a widely unknown carrier in Bulgaria. After few minutes of consultations among junior and senior officers I got my boarding passes. At Doha airport (the first transit hub to go through) there were no questions and formal checking of my first passport page during boarding.

The Chinese immigrant officer at Pudong International Airport in Shanghai is unhappy and little bit embarrassed to have me applying for transit stay. After presenting my flight bookings I’m asked to sit down on a chair in a small separate area and wait to call me. It takes around 30 minutes to clear my travel plan and stamp the transit visa on my passport page. I was strongly warned not to leave the Shanghai municipality (province) borders. I didn’t object that as I mega metropolis city like Shanghai I needed 2-3 days for sightseeing for sure with all newly - build skyscrapers, the old area – The Bund, parks, etc.

On my way back from Seoul via Shanghai to Sofia with 1 day stop-over in Shanghai there were no questions and delays.

On the next year – 2016, I was very happy to return in China with regular tourist visa for on overland trip alongside the famous Silk route from Beijing to Urumqi in West China and Uzbekistan in Central Asia.

Flight date
May 2015
Connecting airport/s
Doha Intl
Overall rate
On time arrival of all flights
Baggage handling
Clarity of transfer information
Time between connections
Transit process at connecting airports
Baggage arrived
Yes
Missed connecting flight
No
Recommend this airline for connecting flights
Yes
Svilen   one year ago
The Airport is big but well organized. I had a 7 hours transfer time.There are configurable chairs very convenient for rest and sleeping. You can find them in the special separated sections. In general in the while airport there are plenty of quiet places where you can take a rest.
Flight date
March 2015
Airport from
Sofia
Airport to
Krabi
Connecting airport/s
Doha Intl
Overall rate
On time arrival of all flights
Baggage handling
Clarity of transfer information
Time between connections
Transit process at connecting airports
Baggage arrived
Yes
Missed connecting flight
No
Recommend this airline for connecting flights
Yes
Ogy   one year ago
New rules have been implemented following the purchase of my ticket. The new rules does not provide hotel for 8+ hour transfers with flights via Doha Intl. The new information has not been announces and it was kept in silence. the sleeping conditions on the airport are available and the proposed bed type chairs are not comfortable at all.
Flight date
April 2016
Airport from
Sofia
Airport to
Zanzibar
Connecting airport/s
Doha Intl
Overall rate
On time arrival of all flights
Baggage handling
Clarity of transfer information
Time between connections
Transit process at connecting airports
Baggage arrived
Yes
Missed connecting flight
No
Recommend this airline for connecting flights
Yes
Atanas   one year ago
Hamad airport/Qatar airways service is excellent. I had an 8 hour stopover and was offered the choice between a hotle room and a city trip, all free. The city trip was brief but interesting.
Flight date
April 2016
Airport from
Melbourne Airport (Tullamarine)
Airport to
Sofia
Connecting airport/s
Doha Intl, Malpensa International Airport
Overall rate
On time arrival of all flights
Baggage handling
Clarity of transfer information
Time between connections
Transit process at connecting airports
Baggage arrived
Yes
Missed connecting flight
No
Recommend this airline for connecting flights
Yes
Svetoslav   one year ago
Hamad International is a state-of-the-art airport and despite that it is becoming busier every year, the overall level of the services is top-notch.
Flight date
April 2015
Airport from
Baiyun Intl
Airport to
Sofia
Connecting airport/s
Doha Intl
Overall rate
On time arrival of all flights
Baggage handling
Clarity of transfer information
Time between connections
Transit process at connecting airports
Baggage arrived
Yes
Missed connecting flight
No
Recommend this airline for connecting flights
Yes
Ana   one year ago
Flight date
November 2015
Connecting airport/s
Doha Intl
Overall rate
On time arrival of all flights
Baggage handling
Clarity of transfer information
Time between connections
Transit process at connecting airports
Baggage arrived
Yes
Missed connecting flight
No
Recommend this airline for connecting flights
Yes
Svilen   one year ago
Very bad quality of the food.The flight was on time
Flight date
August 2015
Airport from
Sofia
Airport to
Chaklala
Connecting airport/s
Doha Intl
Overall rate
On time arrival of all flights
Baggage handling
Clarity of transfer information
Time between connections
Transit process at connecting airports
Baggage arrived
Yes
Missed connecting flight
No
Recommend this airline for connecting flights
Yes
info@connectionreview.com