Qatar Airways


3.93/5 from 15 reviews
www.qatarairways.com
QR
Hamad International Airport - Doha (DOH)

Qatar Airways is the flag carrier of Qatar, based in Doha, Qatar. Qatar Airways operates out of its hub at Hamad International Airport. It serves 150 destinations across Africa, Middle East, Europe, North America, South America, Asia and Oceania. The fleet consists of nearly 200 aircraft. 

Reviews

Krasimira   a month ago
Our flight from Bangkok, Thailand to Sofia, Bulgaria via Doha was very satisfactory and comfortable. We had only just over an hour transit with no problems. All flights were on time and our luggage arrived with us as well. Hamad International Airport is big but very well organized. I would definitely recommend Qatar Airways for connecting flights.
Flight date
September 2019
Airport from
Bangkok Suvarnabhumi Airport
Airport to
Sofia International Airport
Connecting airport/s
Doha Hamad Airport
Overall rate
On time arrival of all flights
Baggage handling
Clarity of transfer information
Time between connections
Transit process at connecting airports
Baggage arrived
Yes
Missed connecting flight
No
Recommend this airline for connecting flights
Yes
Giorgia   a month ago
We didn't have problems with our connecting experience, our flights were on time, there were trains connecting the different terminals. The experience on the airplane was great, the service, cleanliness etc.
Flight date
November 2018
Airport from
Sofia International Airport
Airport to
Bangkok Don Mueang Airport
Connecting airport/s
Doha Hamad Airport
Overall rate
On time arrival of all flights
Baggage handling
Clarity of transfer information
Time between connections
Transit process at connecting airports
Baggage arrived
Yes
Missed connecting flight
No
Recommend this airline for connecting flights
Yes
saad   5 months ago
Traveled 19th june 2019 my flght was QR200 from Budapest to Doha and onwards to Karachi with a layover of 3.5 hours. our flight was delayed by more than 4.5 hours from Budapest due to rain and later damage on runway as we were told and was all over the internet as well. Upon arrival at Doha and missing our connection no proper arrangements were in place and everyone was told that we were brought to a wrong gate and the arrangements were not in place. People got scattered and there was utmost confusion and chaos around after 2 hours of pleading and requesting were given boarding passes for next flight after 15 hours and boarding. Upon arriving back home i saw a policy of Qatar airways clearly stating that any flight delay from EU to NON EU airport was to pay for financial compensation and its chart is given on their website. Upon writing them an email and claiming our right to customer services a generic email was sent of apology and not entertaining the claim. Upon sending them an email with the snapshot and clarity the response was again generic apology and avoiding the claim. i had to write and call the local Qatar office in Karachi and spoke to them upon which i was told the case was discussed and i should write back to customer services which i did. Again the response was the same with an attachment of a judgement of UK aviation authority which covers them what "extra ordinary" circumstances are which more or less covers everything and the claim can never me made. This information is not available on their website and the airline is cheating and mis leading their customers to believe that they provide 5 star service which in fact they don't and are mis leading their customer by having selective content and optically favourable information on their website.
Flight date
June 2019
Airport from
Budapest Ferihegy Airport
Airport to
Jinnah Intl
Connecting airport/s
Doha Hamad Airport
Overall rate
On time arrival of all flights
Baggage handling
Clarity of transfer information
Time between connections
Transit process at connecting airports
Baggage arrived
Yes
Missed connecting flight
Yes
Recommend this airline for connecting flights
No
Gabrielle   10 months ago
The flights were excellent as were the flight attendants. However, this flight was delayed leaving Perth due to pilot illness and I was extremely dissatisfied with the handling of the delay. When someone flies with an airline, what happens before, in between and in the event of delays is as important as the flight itself.

I received no communications announcing the delay so only found out at the airport. My initial trip was 28h and I was put on an 88h trip. Due to a delay, I missed my connecting flight from JFK to Montreal and Qatar wanted to put me on a different flight to North Carolina knowing I would miss the connecting flight from North Carolina to Montreal. I had to insist on being put in a hotel. I was not given a transport voucher because they only give those when many passengers are delayed. In my emails to Qatar, they addressed the wrong person and to get a reimbursement for the airport fee for Perth was like pulling teeth from a shark.

How you treat one person is how you treat many. I would hesitate to book with Qatar again because I feel their customer service is very lacking.
Flight date
January 2019
Airport from
Perth International Airport
Airport to
Pierre Elliott Trudeau Intl
Connecting airport/s
John F Kennedy Airport
Overall rate
On time arrival of all flights
Baggage handling
Clarity of transfer information
Time between connections
Transit process at connecting airports
Baggage arrived
Yes
Missed connecting flight
Yes
Recommend this airline for connecting flights
No
Martin   2 years ago
I flew Krabi (Thailand) to Sofia (Bulgaria) via Doha, Qatar back in March 2018. The flight started from Krabi early in the morning which is not perfect for a long journey, but it was alright. The transfer time in Doha was about 4-5 hours, which is a bit too long. Otherwise, all flights were on time and my luggage arrived with me as well. Overall, I am satisfied with the service.
Flight date
March 2018
Airport from
Krabi Airport
Airport to
Sofia International Airport
Connecting airport/s
Doha Hamad Airport
Overall rate
On time arrival of all flights
Baggage handling
Clarity of transfer information
Time between connections
Transit process at connecting airports
Baggage arrived
Yes
Missed connecting flight
No
Recommend this airline for connecting flights
Yes
Martin   2 years ago
I flew Sofia - Utapao (Thailand) via Doha airport in February 2018. Both flights were on time and the transfer time was about 2 hours, which is a perfect length for a transfer. At Doha airport everything was organized well and the whole process was carried out very smoothly.
The only drawback is the slightly longer time of flying due to the limited air space in the region of Qatar due to the domestic political situation.
Flight date
February 2018
Airport from
Sofia International Airport
Airport to
U Taphao Intl
Connecting airport/s
Doha Hamad Airport
Overall rate
On time arrival of all flights
Baggage handling
Clarity of transfer information
Time between connections
Transit process at connecting airports
Baggage arrived
Yes
Missed connecting flight
No
Recommend this airline for connecting flights
Yes
Peter   3 years ago
Qatar Airways is one of the best airlines to fly to Asia, not only because the planes are new and service is good, but the transfers are smooth. Doha is a state of art airport and very easy to move around. There is Qatar staff everywhere around the airport, whom you can ask for reference and guidance. The connection to Bangkok was perfect, as waiting time was just under 3h. It gives you an opportunity to do some shopping, have a bite and walk a bit before a long flight. I would definitely recommend Qatar Airways for connecting flights.
Flight date
January 2017
Airport from
Sofia International Airport
Airport to
Bangkok Suvarnabhumi Airport
Connecting airport/s
Doha Hamad Airport
Overall rate
On time arrival of all flights
Baggage handling
Clarity of transfer information
Time between connections
Transit process at connecting airports
Baggage arrived
Yes
Missed connecting flight
Yes
Recommend this airline for connecting flights
Yes
Nikola   3 years ago
Hamad International Airport is Qatar Airways' hub and it is extremely convenient airport. Transferring there is hassle free, quick and easy. Even if you have really short connection time (45 minutes) the airline/airport staff will guide you and help you through security.
Flight date
October 2016
Airport from
Sofia International Airport
Airport to
Tokyo Haneda Airport
Connecting airport/s
Doha Hamad Airport
Overall rate
On time arrival of all flights
Baggage handling
Clarity of transfer information
Time between connections
Transit process at connecting airports
Baggage arrived
Yes
Missed connecting flight
No
Recommend this airline for connecting flights
Yes
Valentin   3 years ago
Qatar Airways and Visa - free transit stay at Shanghai

I always put a title of my trip and this one is under acronym Capitalist East Asia. Capitalist East Asia tour includes Shanghai as the financial capital of People Republic of China (PRC), Taipei – the capital of Taiwan or Republic of China as a remnant of the old capitalist China from early 20th century, Japan – the third largest economy in the world and Seoul, the capital of the capitalist South Korea. The trip in the region would take 2 weeks and 10 flights. Japan was the prime destination of my interest during this trip accompanied of metropolises of Shanghai, Taipei and Seoul.

I deliberately chose Shanghai airport as a stopover. The cheapest option was to fly with Qatar Airways to Shanghai. Then I booked a separate flight to Taipei, Taiwan with Chinese low-cost airline Spring. The rationale behind this itinerary is two-folded: first the direct route to Taipei was too expensive and I need to take advantage of 72-hours visa – free transit stay to see the city of Shanghai.

As a foreigner I need a tourist visa for mainland China (PRC). But in last few years the China government introduced transit visa – free allowance to stay in major cities which hosts international airport hubs. The condition to stay there up to 72-hours is to prove your transit stay with outward flight to a foreign country. It’s interesting and even ridiculous for that particular purpose the special administrative regions (SAR) of Hong Kong and Macao and Taiwan are considered as foreign outward destinations or their politico-administrative status being equal of independent countries like Japan and South Korea. And this come in the light of constant claims of PRC that Taiwan is part of PRC. Never mind the political issues and juridical nuances of the current international status of Taiwan but I need to take into account possible visa troubles during planning of my trip.

The check-in stuff of Qatar Airways in Sofia took my international passport and was looking for Chinese visa. There is no Chinese visa. I showed them my booking (e-ticket number included) of Spring Airlines from Shanghai to Taipei. They seemed not very happy as Spring Airlines is a widely unknown carrier in Bulgaria. After few minutes of consultations among junior and senior officers I got my boarding passes. At Doha airport (the first transit hub to go through) there were no questions and formal checking of my first passport page during boarding.

The Chinese immigrant officer at Pudong International Airport in Shanghai is unhappy and little bit embarrassed to have me applying for transit stay. After presenting my flight bookings I’m asked to sit down on a chair in a small separate area and wait to call me. It takes around 30 minutes to clear my travel plan and stamp the transit visa on my passport page. I was strongly warned not to leave the Shanghai municipality (province) borders. I didn’t object that as I mega metropolis city like Shanghai I needed 2-3 days for sightseeing for sure with all newly - build skyscrapers, the old area – The Bund, parks, etc.

On my way back from Seoul via Shanghai to Sofia with 1 day stop-over in Shanghai there were no questions and delays.

On the next year – 2016, I was very happy to return in China with regular tourist visa for on overland trip alongside the famous Silk route from Beijing to Urumqi in West China and Uzbekistan in Central Asia.

Flight date
May 2015
Connecting airport/s
Doha Hamad Airport
Overall rate
On time arrival of all flights
Baggage handling
Clarity of transfer information
Time between connections
Transit process at connecting airports
Baggage arrived
Yes
Missed connecting flight
No
Recommend this airline for connecting flights
Yes
Svilen   4 years ago
The Airport is big but well organized. I had a 7 hours transfer time.There are configurable chairs very convenient for rest and sleeping. You can find them in the special separated sections. In general in the while airport there are plenty of quiet places where you can take a rest.
Flight date
March 2015
Airport from
Sofia International Airport
Airport to
Krabi Airport
Connecting airport/s
Doha Hamad Airport
Overall rate
On time arrival of all flights
Baggage handling
Clarity of transfer information
Time between connections
Transit process at connecting airports
Baggage arrived
Yes
Missed connecting flight
No
Recommend this airline for connecting flights
Yes
info@connectionreview.com